https://www.kirrt.org/story/diyal-singh-cobbler-panjola Diyal Singh | Cobbler | Panjola 2019-08-20 10:18:35 I am around 74 years old. I am working as a cobbler from 25-26 years. Prior to this, I used to be a farm labourer with the Jatt landlords and then I used to be a daily wage labourer. When I stopped doing the labour work. I learnt shoemaking from the village Balberha. There was this shoemaker of Jafarpur. After that I worked in my village, mending and making the shoes. Gurdeep Singh Blog post Story

 

 

KIRRT STORIES

Dyal Singh

Cobbler
Panjola

SHARE THIS STORY

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on tumblr
Share on print
Share on email

I am around 74 years old. I am working as a cobbler from 25-26 years. Prior to this, I used to be a farm labourer with the Jatt landlords and then I used to be a daily wage labourer. When I stopped doing the labour work. I learnt shoemaking from the village Balberha. There was this shoemaker of Jafarpur. After that I worked in my village, mending and making the shoes.

I got some support from the government to start this work. I bought the wood from that money and I had to put in some from my savings. I got the wood sawed from the saw-mill and got this cabin made. There is an issue with where to place it at times. It had to be moved. Here and there.

I made shoes for 12-13 years. I do not make them anymore. Another cobbler makes it and I give the finishing touches. Earlier I used to do at all. I have sold pairs in all nearby villages. Sometimes I sell pairs as far as Patiala. I am into mending the shoes more and less into selling of the new shoes. You make 20-30 rupees if you sell a pair of shoes, you can make the same amount with other gigs; by mending or by polishing.

Any cobbling work is there. I have learnt them all. There is overwhelming work sometimes and it is less at times. Sometimes you make 200 rupees and at times it is just 50 rupees. I can do all the counting work even though I have not been to school.

My one son is a barber. The second one died. He was married for one and a half years. He and his wife died. They were survived by a three-month-old daughter.

I follow all faiths of the land. It is not that I stop myself from going to a different place of worship. I go to the Gurdwara too and to the Gugga’s shrine as well.

Stay in Touch

Find us on